Café Exploring | Greys

Image

A little fact about me: I’m a brunch lover. What is better than having breakfast food at lunch time? Not much I say. Today  with two of my dearest uni friends, I came across the delightful little spot that is Grey’s. Now two things caught my eye at this establishment. 1. The glowing green and black sign that told me Campos was brewing and 2.The most adorable little plants set in hessian bags on each table. Much to my delight, the entire shop fit out features some of the cutest cafe decor I have seen! Sorry, I am getting sidetracked. Back to that later.

Nestled away ironically in Grey St, South Brisbane, Greys is both a cafe and wine bar featuring an all round scrumptious menu with breakfast served till 3pm. A massive tick in my books. Accompanying an extensive brekkie menu, is lunch and light meals, a delectable range of salads, tapas-style share plates and a dessert counter that would win the heart of any sweet tooth.As for drinks, the Campos coffee was right up there with the best I have had. It is Campos after all.

After much deliberation, I decide to go for a vego breakfast option. Now don’t get me wrong, I love my bacon but today I was feeling something a bit lighter and having a vego as one of my BFF’s (best foodie friends) has led me to appreciate vego meals in all their deliciousness. Today I was not disappointed in the slightest. My plate was laden with a generous wedge of avocado, roasted vine tomatoes, sour dough toast, rosemary mushrooms, petite hashbrowns, wilted spinach, rocket AND two perfectly poached eggs. DELISH! Who says vego meals have to be boring?

Now back to the decor. The wallpaper was an artsy floral yellow, perfectly complimented with black tables and chairs and  leafy green foilage that decked out the walls. Frames that adorned the shop were simple yet effective as were the clever vases and lampshades that created a warm atmosphere, even dining alfresco.

All in all, I was massively impressed with Grey’s. The quality and presentation of our food was wonderful as was the service. I highly recommend checking it out next time you are in the area, I will certainly be back to eat my way through the menu!

Stay hungry,

S.

Leave a Reply

