Café Exploring | Kettle & Tin

It’s been almost 2 months since I checked out a new café. Please don’t judge. Uni once again has been consuming my life so blame it. Yesterday I finally left my computer and uni work behind for some desperately  needed best foodie friend time complete with neat eats. Thanks SWOTVAC. 

Nestled neatly between the shops that line the end of Caxton St, lies a petit house numbered 215. Yet this is no ordinary house. The team that bought Brisbane The Ponycat has graced us with, Kettle & Tin, a delightful refurb of an old Paddington abode brimming with character, delicious eats and fantastic beverages. From the outset, the cafés light open setting makes you feel like could be dining in someone’s home and with a choice of outdoor courtyard tables, indoor tables, high benches or cushioned stools. There really is a table to suit everyone any time of day. Inside, expect a beautiful fit out with a slight vintage style, plus some quirky touches – think ladder chandeliers and live art installments as well as hanging pots and pans (kettles too!) backboards and assorted knick knacks and adorbs cushions. 

As for the food. What an absolute treat. Covering all bases from morning to midnight, Kettle & Tin serves breakfast and lunch each day. As the professional brunchers we are (or like to think!) of course our eyes darted straight to the early morning offerings. The extensive menu has everything from the humble smashed avo on toast to apple crumble waffles to a Spanish frittata with black bean salsa, pesto and asparagus. Are you drooling yet? Despite my poor decision making skills,  I couldn’t go past the smashed pumpkin with walnuts, spring onion and a hint of balsamic. 3 of my all time fave ingredients. This amazing combination was topped with a generous sprinkle of creamy goats cheese and served on toasted sourdough. I also treated myself to some field mushrooms on the side which were full of buttery deliciousness. Oh my god. Heaven. I think I may have found something that tops my all time fave but I will have to try it again a few more times just to be sure though.. My brunching partner in crime went for a creamy omelette filled with slow-roasted onions, vine-roasted tomatoes and avocado also served with sourdough. Mmmm. Both dishes were beautifully presented on gorgeous grey stone plates that made the colours pop exquisitely. This is seriously simple food executed beautifully. Breakfast is also served until 3pm, It just keep getting better.

The beverages on offer range from freshly squeezed juices to an assortment of expertly prepared coffee and teas. You can tell the barista at this place is pro. Both our double-shot latte and cappuccino were beautifully presented with flavour to match using a Papa Bear blend from brother establishment Bare Bones Espresso. We were so impressed we had another after our breakfast. The thriving little business also turns into a neat bar after 5pm with quirky cocktails, trivia and share plates to match.

I can’t wait to return and eat my way through the rest of the menu. Do yourself a favour and check out Kettle & Tin, I promise you will love it! 

Stay hungry, 

S.

Leave a comment