Gourmet gallivanting at the Good Food and Wine Show!

zumbo1

The dynamic foodie weekend that Brisbane loves has come to a close for another year. Thousands of foodies celebrated the centre of the food and wine universe at this years Good Food and Wine Show. across three days, October 19-21. Sampling wines from around Australia, discovering Brisbane’s best food trucks, learning tips and tricks from our favourite culinary heroes, this foodie mecca never disappoints on every level. There is something to see, do and taste around very corner.

Having been to four past show’s, this year was probably one of my most favourite yet. Why? Well I just so happened to nab a ticket to one of Adriano Zumbo’s macaron masterclasses. Yes, I was going to get to be part of the Zumbo Academy. Securing my ticket in April, I had waited 6 months for this day to come. So bright and early on Saturday morning, I spent 2 glorious hours with the macaron maestro making macarons. Yep, I was in heaven. Once inside, we ( I uncannily found out a uni friend was doing the same class!) raced to get a bench at the front which was laden with shiny Kitchenaid equipment. There we found out we were making Fingerbun Zumbarons, one of my absolute fave varieties.

With Adriano coming around to check on our progress we were able to get get first hand tips to perfect these little gems and cook step by step with him. It was truly an experience I will never forget. While our macarons were baking, Australia’s version of Willy Wonka even came around for chats and photos. This guy couldn’t be sweeter if he tried. With arms full of our baked creations, extra Zumbarons for study snacks, a Zumbo Academy tour t-shirt (I had to have one!) and a goodie box filled with Zumbo bake-at-home kits, new cooking ware, an apron, tea towel, oven mit, Zumbraons book AND an adorbs bag, I left this masterclass completely over the moon. Now I can say I have cooked alongside Adriano Zumbo and can cross that off my foodie bucket list.

Coupled with lots of taste testers, some new and interesting product innovations and a whole heap of foodie inspiration, this show is one of my most favourite food events on the Brisbane social calendar.

So thank-you Good Food and Wine Show for making one of my foodie dreams come true, I’ll never forget it!

Stay hungry,

S.

Leave a Reply

