Neat Eats | Campos Coffee

campos

If you love ( and I mean L O V E! ) a good coffee look no further than Campos. I’m serious. As the name suggests, these guys really are specialty coffee professionals. So being an avid and loyal Campos drinker ( yes, I would walk to the other side of campus to get me a Campos cappuccino back in my Honours days!) Campos’s Queensland HQ would have to be one of my fave places to grab a bite and brew in Brisbane. Read on to find out more and why you should be heading here ASAP.

Barely noticeable from the street front, this hidey-hole of a coffee spot down a laneway on Wandoo St in Fortitude Valley is also home to a public cupping room, a training, research and development  centre, and a meeting room which is available to the general public. Talk about a cool place to ah..work! I challenge you not to get distracted by the scent of coffee and crispy bacon while trying to read lecture notes or journal articles here. Trust me, I have tried. I have however been to the barista training and it is such a great little space. Churning out great coffee and a few sweet things to takeaway, Campos Coffee is a great spot to grab your morning brew, iced latte or tea and some seriously delicious eats seven days a week. With a small amount of seating both in and outside along the wall, hues of olive green and black decorate the space. Lovely little planter boxes filled with an array of colourful flowers and plants also sit sweetly in recycled coffee bags against the brick walls adding a bright pop of colour. You really do feel like you have escaped the hustle and bustle of the city by wandering down this laneway.

Having recently changed their menu ( it does change monthly!) Campos have taken brunch to a whole new level. Paying respect to some spectacular ingredients, on our latest visit I went for the avo on toast offering but this wasn’t any ol’ avo. This was house smoked and brilliant! I really love smoky flavours so this was a first for me and I was in love. But the amazingness didn’t stop there. This avo had grilled peaches which added a lovely sweetness, creamy itty bitty balls of mozzarella, a drizzle of slightly tangy mango vinegar and sprinkled delicately with lovely micro herbs. Wow. What a dish, I really couldn’t fault it. Every flavour worked together a treat and that avo was seriously out of this world. My brunching partner went for the parmesan french toast with cured sardines, tomatoes, spring onion, Sicilian olives and creme fraiche. Again, presented beautifully and amazing flavours executed with precision. Other menu items just to name a few include forest mushrooms with hand cut bacon, truffle butter and 63 degree egg (so getting that next time!) to confit duck hash brown with apple puree, poached cranberries, hazelnuts and sous vide eggs. See what I mean? Amazing.

Once a fave, always a fave. I’ll certainly be returning to Campos at Wandoo St before the menu changes again for more brunch heaven. Do yourself a favour and check out Campos, you’ll thank me I promise!

Stay hungry,

S.

Leave a Reply

