Recipe | Coconut Scones with Lemon Curd

11258446_10206561442101082_1180112995_o

I haven’t posted a recipe in quite a while now so I thought I’d share something I made a few days back for a belated Mother’s Day afternoon tea with my Mumsy. I’m an avid scone appreciator. Like who doesn’t love a fresh scone out of the oven with lashings of cream and jam (strawberry for me please!). So on this particular arvo I tried my hand at some coconut flavoured ones which I made based on a recipe I found on Taste.com.au (flippin’ love that website!) I thought to share it for all you coconut lovin’ foodies out there. You’ll probably have to bake two batches of these because they won’t last long! I also served these with some store bought lemon curd ( hey, it’s totally allowed in my kitchen!) and some double dollop (Paul’s is the best!) double cream.

Ingredients |

  • 2 1/2 cups self-raising flour
  • 1 tablespoon caster sugar
  • 60g unsalted butter, chilled, chopped
  • 240ml coconut milk
  • 3 teaspoons demerara sugar
  • 3 teaspoons desiccated coconut
  • Lemon curd and double cream to serve

Method |

Preheat oven to 220°C/200°C fan forced. Line a baking tray with baking paper. Sift the flour into a large bowl. 
Stir in the caster sugar.

Rub in the butter until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Make a well in the centre.

Add 220ml of the coconut milk to the well. Use a flat-bladed knife to mix until just combined. Knead on a lightly floured surface until smooth and shape dough into 
a 2cm-thick disc. Use a 6cm round cutter to cut 12 rounds from dough. Repeat until all dough

Place scones, slightly apart, on prepared tray. Brush with the remaining coconut milk. Combine the demerara sugar and desiccated coconut in a bowl and sprinkle over the scones liberally to get a nice crust.

Bake for 17-18 minutes or until golden and cooked through. Halve and serve warm, filled with the lemon curd and double cream and a sprinkling of shredded coconut.

Simple right? I think it’s pretty much a lemon meringue-like explosion of flavour in your mouth but you’ll have to make them to see for yourself.

Stay hungry and happy baking,

S.

Leave a Reply

